Continuation Scholarships

Each year the College awards scholarships to current (JCR) residents who have demonstrated academic achievement, contribution to the community or have financial need.

Needs-based Scholarships & Bursaries

The following scholarships require financial details from parents or guardians, as well as a brief outline of the family situation. Needs-based scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic performance and contribution to the College as well as financial need.

Os Nelson Scholarships
Two half-fee scholarships for continuing students who are making an excellent contribution to College life have been made available through the generosity of Mr Mark Nelson in honour of his father, the late Mr Os Nelson (QC 1950-52).

Parnaby Scholarships 
These are made possible by the generous bequest of Dr Owen Parnaby, fourth Master of the College, and his wife, Dr Joy Parnaby, historian and senior lecturer at the University of Melbourne, and are awarded to students who have made an excellent contribution to College life.  Preference is given to students who are returning to the College for a third year.

Master’s Bursaries
The Head of College may award a small number of bursaries to students who would otherwise not be able to return to the College.

First Nations Scholarships
Accepted applicants are eligible for funding under the cost share agreement run jointly with the University of Melbourne. This gives applicants a minimum of $5000 per annum (for ABSTUDY eligible students), or up to 33% reduction in fees (for ABSTUDY ineligible students).


Academic Continuation Scholarships

Fellows’ Scholarship
This scholarship was instituted by the Fellows of the College in 2003 and is awarded to the student (or students, if two achieve the exact same percentage) who obtained the most outstanding academic results in the previous year.

Past Scholars
Scholarship(s) for academic excellence are made possible by gifts given annually to the College by past residents awarded scholarships during their time at Queen’s.

Johnstone-Need Scholarships
Two scholarships for academic excellence donated by Dr. Walter Johnstone-Need (QC 1926 -31). On completing his studies he pursued a distinguished career as a surgeon in the field of obstetrics and gynaecology. They are usually given to students in the area of science. The support of the scholarship fund is being continued by his widow, Mrs. Muriel Johnstone-Need.

Hitchcock Scholarship
A scholarship for academic excellence funded by the Hitchcock Estate. Mr H. Hitchcock was one of the owners of the Geelong Department Store Bright & Hitchcock. The main street in Barwon Heads is named after his family.

Moran Scholarship
A scholarship for academic excellence funded from a generous benefaction from Mr T. E. Moran,  founder, together with Mr F. J. Cato, of the firm Moran & Cato, and his son, Dr F. H. Moran,  a medical practitioner.

Tweddle Scholarship
A scholarship for academic excellence made available by the Tweddle Trust. J. T. Tweddle was a major benefactor of the College in the 1920s and 1930s. A part of the Main building of Queen’s is still named after him.

Dr Winston Rickards Scholarship
A scholarship in honour of the distinguished paediatrician and child psychiatrist, who was a student at the College from 1938 to 1942 and for many years Vice-President of its Council. Awarded to a continuing student showing  potential in the fields of psychology and psychiatry.

The Caldwell Scholarship
This is usually awarded to  the student in 2nd or 3rd year who has achieved the highest l mark in a modern language.

Langton Scholarship
A scholarship for academic excellence funded by a bequest of R A Langton for the benefit of country students.

Callister Scholarship
A scholarship for academic excellence from a bequest from Dr C. P. Callister in memory of his son Ian who was killed in the Second World War. Dr Callister was the scientist who created Vegemite.

Chancellor’s Scholars Awards
Continuing Chancellor’s scholars who have achieved an H1 average in 4 subjects a semester in the preceding year are eligible for ongoing scholarship.


Other Continuation Scholarships: Community contribution and leadership

Fellows’ Scholarship
This scholarship was instituted by the Fellows of the College in 2003 and is awarded to a student who had demonstrated leadership and service to society and Queen’s.

JW Whyte Scholarship 
For leadership. Supported by Wyverns Geoff Heard and Nathan Wright.

Donna and John Habersberger Memorial Scholarship
The scholarship has been established by the Honourable David Habersberger KC, former Principal Fellow, in honour of his parents and in recognition of their commitment to education. The scholarship is for high-achieving students with financial need.

The William & Vera Pryor Scholarship
This award was made possible by the twelve children and grandchildren of William and Vera Pryor who all attended the College between 1938 and 1992. It commemorates and expresses their gratitude to them for encouraging and supporting the tertiary education of their family members, including residence at Queen’s.

Rex Johnson Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a student who has shown demonstrable leadership in non-academic areas of College and University life. It was donated by Mr A. R. M. Johnson, a distinguished engineer and a Fellow of the College, who died in 2003 at the age of 96.

QSC&SC Scholarships
Awarded by the QCS&SC General Committee for excellent contribution to the College and Student Club community.

Theological scholarships
The college stewards the Hague Scholarship,   funded from the bequest of the late Mr.  George Hague, a Methodist businessman from Geelong; and the  Crisp Scholarship. Any applicants should contact the Head of College directly.