Available Graduate Scholarships

Wyvern Graduate Scholarships

In order to encourage recent Wyvern graduates or third-year students to continue their studies at the College as graduates, the Wyvern Society offers one or two Wyvern Graduate Continuation Scholarships, usually to the value of 2-3,000 each.

The Fellows’ Scholarship

This scholarship was instituted by the Fellows of the College in 2014 and is awarded to a continuing graduate student who is making an outstanding contribution to the College through his/her studies and involvement in College life. It is usually awarded to the MCR student with the best academic results in the preceding year.

The F. B. Philips Graduate Law Scholarship
This scholarship is made available from the Estate of F B (Monty) Philips, a distinguished jurist who became the first Chief Judge of the Supreme Court of Papua and New Guinea.

The Donald ‘Scotty’ Macleish Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship is awarded to medical students continuing their studies who have demonstrated good academic results.

The Leslie Hurley Medical Scholarship
A scholarship in honour of Dr. Leslie Hurley, a Queen’s resident who became a leading Melbourne surgeon, is made available by the Hurley family for a DM student.

The Lilford Graduate Medicine Scholarship
This long-standing medical scholarship was made available by the Lilford family. Algernon George Rowley Lilford graduated in medicine from Queen’s in 1916, but was so badly injured in World War I in France that he was unable to take up his profession. The scholarship also honours his parents William and Elizabeth Lilford. The scholarship is for a DM student.

The Ohman/Sutton Veterinary Science/Medicine Scholarship
This scholarship is made available by the estate of Dr Sigurd Ohman in memory of himself and his sister, Elsie Sutton. It is for a Veterinary Science or Medical student (priority is given to the former).

The N M Harry Scholarship 

For an academically high-achieving medical student.

The CM Hurburgh Graduate Dentistry Scholarship
The scholarship has been made possible by a generous donation by the family of Dr Clifton (Cliff) M Hurburgh, a resident student of Queen’s College when he studied Dental Science in the years 1936–1939, and who had a distinguished College life, both academically and on the sporting field. It is for a Graduate Dentistry student or a Graduate Health Science student (priority is given to the former).

The Lionel Phillips and Takahiro Chikashima Graduate Scholarship for Asian Studies
The scholarship is donated by Mr Takahiro Chikashima in honour of Lionel Phillips (Arts, 1940), who spent much of his life in Japan working in the Australian diplomatic service. It is awarded to a post-graduate student  pursuing a degree in the following areas: (a) Japanese, Chinese or Korean language, history or culture; (b) Australia’s relations with Japan, China or Korea; or (c) Business or legal studies focusing on Japan, China or Korea.  It is usually to the amount of 15,000.

The Scott Scholarship for Music

For students undertaking music/performance degrees.

Caldwell Graduate Humanities/Social Science Scholarship
This scholarship  is funded from the Caldwell Trust, in honour of William Douglas Craig Caldwell, who entered Queen’s in 1962 and later taught German at the Universities of Adelaide and South Australia. Priority is given to students studying Modern languages.

The Andrew Bros Engineering Scholarship

For students studying in the Graduate School of Engineering at the University of Melbourne.

Queen’s scholarships in Business/Economics, Teaching, IT, Design, and Science

The College offers scholarships of between $2000-$4,000 every year to Honours, Masters or PhD students in disciplines not already funded by benefaction, such as business or economics, design,  teaching or science/engineering, as well as 1-2 general scholarships.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Graduate Scholarship

Any discipline.  Students can also apply for a living allowance to cover costs such as a computer or books.

The Hague Graduate Theology Scholarship 
This scholarship was founded in 1910 when the late Mr. George Hague, a Methodist businessman from Geelong, made the College the residuary legatee of his estate. It is offered to a theological student resident in the College who is training for the ministry. Priority is given to candidates for the Uniting Church of Victoria and Tasmania.

Partnership Scholarships – VMIAL PSA Medical and Dental Scholarships
The Victorian Medical Insurance Agency Ltd (VMIAL) PSA Medical and Dental scholarships are for students from a Victorian rural or country background and of limited financial means who, without financial assistance, would not be able to apply for and complete studies in either the Doctor of Medicine (MD) or the Doctor of Dental Science (DDS) courses at the University of Melbourne. The scholarship provides full board at a residential college associated with the University for the duration of the Medical or Dental course. Students who undertake their clinical school placement in one of the five Rural Clinical Schools will also have their accommodation and other limited living costs covered as a part of the scholarship. Full details can be found at http://mdhs.unimelb.edu.au/study/scholarships/n/vmial


The College also offers financial aid to returning and new students from the Master’s Bursary Fund.